Skip to main content

What is the difference between adding and onboarding an employee?

Understand the differences between manually adding an employee and using employee onboarding

Written by Sophie Wilson

When you click your blue plus on your employees page, you'll see see the option to either send an invite to your employee or send them an onboarding link. See below to learn what each does and how to use it.

Add employees

Selecting the 'Add employees' option will allow you to add a new user manually to your account. This means you set up the employee yourself adding their personal information and they are not involved in the set up steps aside from creating their password.

If you choose to 'Add employees', you can decide when you would like to send them an email invite to join and the employe will not be informed or anything done in their account before this - you can also choose to not add an email address if you like (however the employee will need an email address to log in).

To learn more about adding an employee, click here.

Onboard employees

If you choose to 'Onboard employees', employees will be sent an email asking them to enter their own information in order for their account to be set up. This is information such as their address, emergency contact and date of birth in addition to their password.

If you choose to onboard your staff, you will be required to enter an email address (as the employee will be asked for their information via email) and an invite will be sent right away.

To learn more about onboarding an employee, click here.

Did this answer your question?