With RotaCloud Pro, you gain access to the Bulk Actions tool. The Bulk Actions tool gives you the ability to make mass changes to many shifts at once. You can perform various tasks which are explained below, including deleting shifts. These actions make permanent changes to your rota, so please proceed with caution!

Bulk Actions is found in the Tools menu on the Rotas page.

Step 1: Filtering

The left side of the bulk actions page contains a list of filters that are used to select the shifts that you’ll be changing. Before you can make any changes you’ll need to set these filters, to ensure you’re editing the correct shifts and aren’t including any shifts you want to leave alone.

In all cases, you’ll need to define the start & end of the date range using the Date filter.

Date - set the start and end dates and times (inclusive) that the shifts fall on. For shifts that fall across two days, it is the date of the shift’s start that is taken into account.

Employees - use the checkboxes to tick/untick particular employees to show only shifts assigned to them (or Open Shifts).

Locations - use the checkboxes to tick/untick particular locations to show only shifts assigned to them.

Roles - use the checkboxes to tick/untick particular roles to show only shifts with those roles assigned.

Day of Week - choose a single day that the shifts start on, regardless of when the start/end dates are set.

Start Time - set a from/to time to define a window in which the shifts start. If you want a specific start time, set both of these to the same value.

End Time - set a from/to time to define a window in which the shifts end. If you want a specific end time, set both of these to the same value.

Added by - use the checkboxes to tick/untick particular Admins/Managers and show only shifts that were created by them.

Date Added - set the from and to dates to show only shifts that were created in that time window.

Published - select to show only Published shifts, Unpublished shifts, or both.

Notes - select to show only shifts with notes, shifts without notes, or both.

After setting your filters, all shifts that match the criteria will then show in a list:

Lastly, you can use the checkbox to the left of each row to include or exclude it from the action that you choose. Use the checkbox in the header row to quickly select/unselect all.

Step 2: Actions

Once you’ve filtered out your shifts to contain only the appropriate ones, it’s now time to choose the action to perform on them. Select your action using the drop-down menu in the bottom-right corner.

Copy to another employee - copies the shift to any other employee, retaining the original shift.

Move to another employee - moves the shift from one employee to another, removing it from the original employee.

Copy to Open Shifts - copies the shift to the Open Shifts row on the same location, retaining the original shift.

Move to Open Shifts - makes the shifts into Open Shifts, removing them from the original employee.

Change start/end time - sets all the start and end times of the shift to the same time that you choose. If you only wish to change one of either the start or the end, leave the other time blank.

Change break - enter, in minutes, how long the break is to be set for all shifts.

Change location - select from the drop down menu which location to set all shifts to.

Change role - select from the drop down menu which role to set all shifts to.

Add/change note - type a note in the text box to assign the same note to each shift. To remove notes, leave the text box blank.

Publish shifts - publishes all shifts.

Unpublish shifts - unpublishes all shifts.

Delete shifts - permanently deletes all shifts.

After selecting your action, you’ll be asked to confirm your choice - click ‘ok’ to begin the action. The screen will fade to grey while the action is running, and you’ll not be able to click on any options. Please be patient while the action runs - for large lists of shifts, this can take 30-60 seconds. When the action is complete, the page will return to its solid colour.

Notes & Tips

Some changes are not always possible. For example, if you try to change a shift to a Role that someone can’t work, then the change will not happen. For these shifts, a red marker will be shown to the left of its row. Hover your mouse over the red marker to see the reason why the change has failed.

After some changes, the resulting list of shifts may now be outdated or inaccurate, for example, if you move shifts to another employee. We recommend refreshing the page after each action is completed, before moving onto the next one.

Did this answer your question?